History of the Wetlands


In the early 1990’s Leeton Shire Council considered the eastern portion of Fivebough Wetlands for development as a recreational lake. The proposal was opposed by the Murrami, Wamoon and Corbie Hill Landcare groups, along with the Murrumbidgee Field Naturalists, before Council resolved to revoke the proposal in 1997.


At this time, the Murrumbidgee Field Naturalists and the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) brought attention to the conservation values of the wetlands and the need for a management plan to maintain these values. Hence, under the direction of then NSW Department of Land and Water Conservation, a Management Plan was developed through the Murrumbidgee Wetlands Working Group (MWWG).


In 1998 active management of Fivebough Wetlands began, with the formation of a management committee consisting of government agency, industry and community group representatives, initially established as a sub-committee of Murrumbidgee Field Naturalists.


In 2000, under the direction of then NSW Department of Lands, the management committee became an incorporated not-for-profit community organisation; the Fivebough & Tuckerbil Wetlands Trust.


In August 2001 the Trust commenced the nomination for recognition of Fivebough & Tuckerbil Wetlands as a Wetland of International Importance under the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands. The nomination was supported by many local organisations and interest groups including Leeton Shire Council, Murrumbidgee River Management Committee, Murrumbidgee Irrigation, Ricegrower’s Association of Australia, MIA Council of Horticultural Associations, Leeton Chamber of Commerce, Murrumbidgee Field Naturalists, World Wide Fund for Nature, Birds Australia and the NSW Field Ornithologists Club. This nomination was submitted to NSW and Australian governments on 29th May 2002 and was accepted and designated under Ramsar on 21st October 2002.


The first Plan of Management for the site was developed by the Fivebough & Tuckerbil Wetlands Trust as a requirement of the Ramsar listing, to direct the comprehensive ecological management of the wetlands.


On 3rd December 2010, Fivebough & Tuckerbil Wetlands were notified as Reservation for Environmental Protection and Public Recreation (Reserve 1030008), under the Crown Lands Act 1989, by then NSW Department of Lands. At this time, the Fivebough & Tuckerbil Wetlands Trust was dissolved and administrative management of the reserve was appointed to the Department, specifically the District Offices of Griffith and Wagga Wagga.


To provide guidance and support in the management of the reserve, the Fivebough & Tuckerbil Wetlands Advisory Committee, comprising of government, industry and community group representatives, was formed in 2011, and remains current.


The former Fivebough & Tuckerbil Wetlands Trust consisted of the following members:

Mike Schultz, Phil Green, Tracey Valenzisi, Richard Faulder, Patricia Bowles, Colin Mellor, Barry Greatz, Lilian Parker, Rob Kelly, Karen McCann, John Brickhill, David Egan, David Parker, Jim Ingram, Warren Ingram, Iain Taylor, Ian Maddock, Eric Whiting, Mark Butz and Bruce Gray.